The Blue Maids Orphanage

The Blue Maids Orphanage opened in 1795, a generation before Muller’s Orphanage. But it lay at the bottom of Ashley Hill with Muller’s at the top, and has been rather overshadowed by the larger and richer institution.

Yet there is a tale to tell even in its relative lack of funds and the struggles of the directing committee to keep it going until eventual closure in 1927.

Drawing on the surviving records (including century-old photographs) and well placed in the context of its times, this book explores the behaviour and expectations of its donors, managers and inmates; and contributes yet another chapter to the rich history of charitable care in Bristol.

About the Author

Mary Wright is a freelance tutor and writer in local history. Her previous publications include Montpelier: a Bristol suburb, Elizabeth Blackwell of Bristol: the first Woman Doctor and Kingsdown: Bristol’s Vertical suburb.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *